Throughout July 2018 users will experience some minor, temporary disruptions to library services as we transition to an improved library management and search system. Click here for more information or contact us for questions.
cover image

American music since 1910 / by Virgil Thomson, with an introduction by Nicolas Nabokov.

[1st ed.].. New York : Holt, Rinehart and Winston, [1971] .
ISBN 9780030764653, 0030764653

Location Call Number Status Consortium Loan
George Washington
Gelman stacks
ML 200.5 .T5 (show me on map) Available Request
Mt. Vernon campus stacks
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
LIB stacks
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
Mullen Library stacks Music
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
Van Ness stacks
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
Off-Campus Shelving
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
Lauinger stacks
ML200.5 .T5 Available Request
Lauinger Special Collections General
Subjects Composers -- United States -- Biography.
Compositeurs -- États-Unis -- Biographies.
Music -- United States -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Musique -- États-Unis -- 20e siècle -- Histoire et critique.
United States.
Series Twentieth-century composers (New York, N.Y.) ; v. 1.
Description xvi, 204 pages : illustrations, facsimiles, music, portraits ; 23 cm.
Copyright Date [1971]
Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 187-189).
Contents America's musical maturity. -- American musical traits. -- The Ives case. -- Ruggles. -- Varèse. -- Aaron Copland. -- Looking backward. -- Cage and the collage of noises. -- Let us now praise famous men. -- The operas of Virgil Thomson, by V.F. Yellin. -- Music in Latin America, by G. Chase. -- 106 American composers.
Genre Biography.
Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Geographic Area United States
Network Numbers (OCoLC)141463
WorldCat Search OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Identities Thomson, Virgil, 1896-1989.
Publication timeline, list of works, related names and subjects and other information


Export citation to: RefWorks