cover image

Music of our time; an anthology of works of selected contemporary composers of the 20th century, by Nick Rossi and Robert A. Choate.

; Choate, Robert A., author
Boston, Crescendo Pub. Company [1970] .
ISBN 0875970052, 9780875970059

Location Call Number Status Consortium Loan
George Washington
WRLC Shared Collections Facility
ML 197 .R77 Off-site
Mullen Library stacks Music
ML197.R83 M8 DUE 12-16-2017
George Mason
Fenwick Music - Books
ML197.R6 M8 Available Request
Off-Campus Shelving
ML197 .R77 Available Request
Founders Library stacks
ML197 R77 Available Request
Other Authors Choate, Robert A.,
Subjects Music
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Musique -- 20e siècle -- Histoire et critique.
Description xi, 406 pages illustrations, music, portraits 24 cm
Copyright Date [1970]
Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 390-396).
Contents Claude Debussy. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune ; Iberia : Le Matin d'un jour de fête -- Erik Satie. Trois morceaux en forme de poire : Enlevé -- Arnold Schoenberg. PIerrot Lunaire : Der kranke Mond ; Piano suite (opus 25) : Minuet -- Béla Bartók. Romanian folk dances : Joc cu bâtǎ -- Igor Stravinsky. Le Sacre du printemps : Introduction, Dance des adolescents ; Symphony of Psalms : Psalm CL -- Anton Von Webern. Five pieces for orchestra (opus 10) : Sehr ruhig und zart, Lebhaft und zart bewegt -- Alban Berg. Concerto for violin and orchestra : Allegro -- Heitor Villa-Lobos. Bachianas brasileiras numbers 5 : Aria -- Serge Prokofiev. Concerto numbers 3 for piano and orchestra : Andantino -- Darius Milhaud. Scaramouche : Brazileira -- Carl Orff. Carmina burana : Introduction -- Paul Hindemith. Mathis der Maler : Versuchung des Heiligen Antonius -- Carlos Chavez. Toccata for percussion instruments : Allegro un poco marziale -- Dmitri Shostakovich. The age of gold : Polka -- Benjamin Britten. Peter Grimes : Act II -- Alberto Ginastera. Estancia : Malambo -- Pierre Boulez. Le Soleil des eaux : Complainte du lézard amoureux -- Luciano Berio. Sinfonia : Part III -- Hanz Werner Henze. Symphony numbers 5 : Moto perpetuo -- Karlheinz Stockhausen. Mikrophonie I -- Jazz. Hotter than that -- Charles Ives. Symphony numbers 4 : Allegretto -- Edgar Varèse. Ionisation -- Walter Piston. Symphony numbers 3 : Allegro -- William Grant Still. Afro-American symphony : Animato -- Howard Hanson. Lament for Beowulf -- Virgil Thomson. Four saints in three acts : Act I -- Henry Cowell. The banshee -- Roy Harris. Symphony numbers 3 -- George Gershwin. Rhapsody in blue -- Aaron Copland. Sonata for violin and piano : Andante semplice -- George Antheil. Ballet mécanique -- Samuel Barber. Adagio for strings -- Vladimir Ussachevsky [and] Otto Luening. A poem in cycles and bells -- John Cage. HPSCHD -- Milton Babbitt. Ensembles for synthesizer -- Ned Rorem. Early in the morning -- Gunther Schuller. Seven studies on themes of Paul Klee : Little blue devil, The twittering machine -- Morton Subotnick. Silver apples of the moon : Part II -- Charles Wuorinen. Piano concerto.
Genre Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Network Numbers (OCoLC)60587
WorldCat Search OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Identities Rossi, Nick, 1924-2000.
Publication timeline, list of works, related names and subjects and other information


Export citation to: RefWorks