cover image

The pugnacious Presidents : White House warriors on parade / by Thomas A. Bailey.

London : Collier Macmillan Publishers, [1980] .
ISBN 0029012201, 9780029012208

Location Call Number Status Consortium Loan
George Washington
Gelman stacks
E 176.1 .B175 (show me on map) Available Request
LIB stacks
E176.1 .B175 Available Request
Mullen Library stacks
E176.1 .B175 Available Request
Van Ness stacks
E 176.1 .B175 Available Request
Off-Campus Shelving
E176.1 .B175 Available Request
Founders Library stacks
E176.1 B175 Available Request
Marymount Main stacks
E176.1 .B175 1980 Available Request
Subjects Presidents -- United States.
United States -- History, Military.
United States.
Description vii, 504 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Copyright Date [1980]
Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 479-483) and index.
Contents George Washington: the reluctant warrior -- John Adams: the undeclared warrior -- Thomas Jefferson: the peaceful warrior -- James Madison: the scholarly warrior -- James Monroe: the good feelings president -- John Quincy Adams: the "corrupt bargain" president -- Andrew Jackson: the people's president -- Martin Van Buren: the little magician -- William H. Harrison: the hero of Tippecanoe -- John Tyler: the first accidental president -- James K. Polk: servant of manifest destiny -- Zachary Taylor: the hero of Buena Vista -- Millard Fillmore: the last of the Whigs -- Franklin Pierce: the forgotten president -- James Buchanan: the doughface president -- Abraham Lincoln: the great emancipator -- Andrew Johnson: the Tennessee tailor -- Ulysses S. Grant: the hero of Appomattox -- Rutherford B. Hayes: the man of integrity -- James A. Garfield: the martyred president -- Chester A. Arthur: the dude president -- Grover Cleveland: the veto president -- Benjamin Harrison: the centennial president -- Grover Cleveland: defender of the underdog -- William McKinley: the reluctant imperialist -- Theodore Roosevelt: brandisher of the big stick -- William Howard Taft: apostle of dollar diplomacy -- Woodrow Wilson: the idealistic warrior -- Warren G. Harding: the apostle of normalcy -- Calvin Coolidge: the sphinx of the Potomac -- Herbert Hoover: the great humanitarian -- Franklin D. Roosevelt: the man of destiny -- Harry S. Truman: the man of independence -- Dwight D. Eisenhower: the war hero president -- John F. Kennedy: the new frontiersman -- Lyndon B. Johnson: the tormented Texan -- Richard Nixon: the warrior for peace -- Gerald R. Ford: the healing president -- Jimmy Carter: the born again president -- Pugnacity in perspective.
Genre Military history.
Geographic Area United States
Network Numbers (OCoLC)6602685
WorldCat Search OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Identities Bailey, Thomas Andrew, 1902-1983.
Publication timeline, list of works, related names and subjects and other information


Export citation to: RefWorks