The main stream of music, and other essays. Collected, with an introduction, by Hubert Foss.

; Foss, Hubert J. (Hubert James), 1899-1953, compiler
New York, Oxford University Press, 1949.

Location Call Number Status Consortium Loan
George Washington
WRLC Shared Collections Facility
ML 60 .T666 1949 Off-site
Internet Archive
Open Library
Open Library
LIB stacks
ML60 .T666 1949 Available Request
Mullen Library stacks Music
ML60 .T72 1949 Available Request
Other Authors Foss, Hubert J. 1899-1953,
Subjects Music
Music -- History and criticism.
Description ix, 404 pages music 23 cm
Copyright Date 1949.
Notes London edition (Oxford University Press) has title: Essays and lectures on music.
Contents Haydn's chamber music -- Christopher Willibald Gluck -- Franz Schubert -- Musical form and matter -- Normality and freedom in music -- Words and music : some obiter dicta -- Brahms's chamber music -- Some aspects of Beethoven's art forms -- Elgar, master of music -- Dohnányi's chamber music -- The "lean athletic style" of Hindemith -- Prefaces to cadenzas for classical concertos -- The main stream of music -- A note on opera -- Stimulus and the classics of music -- The training of the musical imagination -- The meaning of music.
Genre Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Network Numbers (OCoLC)598719
WorldCat Search OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Identities Tovey, Donald Francis, 1875-1940,
Publication timeline, list of works, related names and subjects and other information


Export citation to: RefWorks