Essays in musical analysis; chamber music, by Donald Francis Tovey ... With an editor's note by Hubert J. Foss.

; Foss, Hubert J. (Hubert James), 1899-1953
London, Oxford University Press, 1944.

Location Call Number Status Consortium Loan
George Washington
Gelman stacks
MT 140 .T69 Available Request
WRLC Shared Collections Facility
MT140 .T69 Off-site
Mullen Library stacks Music
MT140.T73 E7 Available Request
WRLC Shared Collections Facility
George Mason
Fenwick Music - Books
MT140 .T69 1972 Available Request
Other Title Musical analysis.
Other Authors Foss, Hubert J. 1899-1953.
Subjects Chamber music -- Analysis, appreciation.
Description viii, 217, [1] pages illustrations (music) 23 cm
Copyright Date 1944.
Notes Contains the greater part of the author's chamber music analyses.
Contents Chamber Music, a general survey -- BACH -- The Clavieriibung -- Aria with Thirty variations (The 'Goldberg' Variations) -- The Listener's Guide to Die Kunst der Fuge -- Toccata in F Sharp minor -- HAYDN -- Pianoforte Sonata in E flat, No. 1 -- MOZART -- Quintet in E flat (K. 452) for pianoforte, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon -- Adagio in E major for violin -- BEETHOVEN -- Thirty-Three variations on a waltz by Diabelli, for pianoforte, opus 120 -- Sonata in A major, for violin and pianoforte (dedicated to Kreutzer), opus 47 -- SCHUBERT -- Blumenballade: 'Voila' -- SCHUMANN -- Novelette in F sharp minor, opus 21, numbers 8, for pianoforte -- Quintet in E flat, opus 44, for pianoforte, two violins, viola, and violoncello -- CHOPIN -- Observations on Chopin's Etudes (C sharp minor, opus 25, numbers 7, D flat major (for the Methode des Methodes), No. 3, F minor (ditto), No. 1, and C mintor, opus 25, no 12), for pianoforte -- Impromptu in F sharp major, opus 36, for pianoforte -- BRAHMS -- Variations on Fugue on a theme by Handel, opus 24, for pianoforte -- Variations on a theme by Pagnini, opus 35, for pianoforte -- Quartet in G minor, opus 25, for pianoforte, violin, viola, and violoncello -- Quartet in A major, opus 26, for pianoforte, violin, viola, and violoncello -- Quartet in C minor, opus 60 for pianoforte, violin, viola, and violoncello.
Network Numbers (OCoLC)563083
WorldCat Search OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Identities Tovey, Donald Francis, 1875-1940.
Publication timeline, list of works, related names and subjects and other information


Export citation to: RefWorks